What is Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee and how to watch it

This weekend, Britain will celebrate the landmark 70th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II’s ascension to the throne with Platinum Jubilee weekend, a national bank holiday taking place from Thursday, June 2 to Sunday, June 5.

Platinum Jubilee

The Queen’s 70th birthday was on Feb. 6, the day after her father, King George VI, died and she ascended to the throne at the age of 25. Various celebrations have already taken place in the United Kingdom in the run-up to the national holiday this weekend. A variety of public events will take place throughout the Jubilee, including Trooping the Colour, Queen Elizabeth II’s birthday procession; a Buckingham Palace performance with Queen and Diana Ross; and a concluding Platinum Jubilee Pageant.

What is Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee

Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee is The 96-year-old queen is the first British monarch in history to reach a Platinum Jubilee, which marks 70 years on the throne

Here’s a full schedule of all the events taking place this Platinum Jubilee weekend, and when to watch.

Thursday, June 2

Trooping the Colour: Queen Elizabeth II’s annual birthday parade will take place in Central London for the first time since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic. The procession will start at Buckingham Palace and end at the Horse Guard’s Parade ground. Participants will include hundreds of army musicians, the Irish Guards’ 1st Battalion, 240 horses, and over 1,200 officers from the Queen’s Household Division. The Queen and her family will make a balcony appearance at the Parade grounds to close the event. (10 a.m GMT / 2 a.m. PT)

The lighting of the Beacons: Immediately following the parade, 1,500 beacons will be lit across the U.K. and its various territories. The central beacon, at Buckingham Palace, will be lit in a special ceremony. (8 p.m GMT / 12 p.m. PT)

Friday, June 3

Thanksgiving Service: A service in honor of the Queen’s reign will take place at St Paul’s Cathedral. Members of the royal family will be in attendance. (9:15 a.m GMT / 1:15 a.m PT)

Saturday, June 4

Platinum Party at the Palace: A Buckingham Palace concert featuring several notable performers on three stages. The lineup includes: Queen with Adam Lambert, Jax Jones, Mabel, Stefflon Dun, Elbow, Craig David, George Ezra, Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber, Mimi Webb, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Sir Elton John, Diversity, Sam Ryder, Sir Rod Stewart, Andrea Bocelli, Duran Duran, Nile Rodgers, Alicia Keys, Hans Zimmer, Celeste, Sigala and Ella Eyre, Mica Paris and Diana Ross. The two-hour concert will air on both BBC One and ABC News, with the ABC News broadcast being made available on Hulu the following day. (7:30 p.m. GMT / 11:30 a.m. PT)

Sunday, June 6

Platinum Jubilee Pageant: The weekend will close with a pageant celebrating the life of Queen Elizabeth II, with a team of performers, dancers, musicians, military personal and other volunteers telling the story of the Queen’s reign through four acts. The pageant will also feature a “River of Hope,” a procession of 200 silk flags with messages from children about their aspirations for the next 70 years, will parade down The Mall (1 p.m. GMT / 5 a.m. PT)

You May Also Like

Billboard Music Awards 2022: See Complete winners list

Billboard Music Awards 2022 Drake was voted top artist, male artist, rap…

Mr. Drew, Fameye, Akwaboah, Others To Rock African Most Beautiful USA in July

Mr. Drew, Fameye, Akwaboah, Others To Rock African Most Beautiful USA in…

What is Hanz Virus outbreak in Ghana and how to avoid it

Table of Contents Hide What is Hanz Virus outbreak in Ghana and…

Photos: Prince Louis steals show at Queen’s Platinum Jubilee

Prince Louis steals show During the Queen’s Jubilee flyover on Thursday, Prince…