ARE YOU CONSIDERING GETTING INK, BUT NOT SURE IF YOU’RE OLD ENOUGH?
Getting a tattoo is a lifelong commitment, which is why most places require you to be an adult – but not everywhere.
How old do you have to be to get a tattoo in the US?
In the United States, the legal minimum age for getting a tattoo is 18.
So, while you’ll still have to wait three years to buy a beer in a bar, you won’t need anyone’s permission except your own to get some new ink.
But the rules do change depending on the state – with 16-year-olds allowed to get a tattoo in Louisiana, Kansas, New Jersey, and Florida.
Do the rules vary from state to state?
Although 18 is the national age minimum, a whopping 38 states also have laws that allow minors to get tattooed with parental consent.
They stipulate that minors can go under the gun as long as their parents are on board – but in most cases the parent needs to be present too.
However, this doesn’t mean a toddler can crawl into a tattoo parlor and grab a new sleeve, with most artists refusing to tat those under 15 or 16 for liability purposes.
At what ages can you get a tattoo in different countries?
Most countries appear to have accepted that 18 is the appropriate age for people to get tattooed.
This is true for Australia, Greece, the United Kingdom, and Italy, but many other countries have their own set of rules.
People in some parts of Spain can get tattoos as young as 14 years old, whereas Costa Ricans can get a tattoo as young as 12 years old.
While anyone over the age of 18 can get inked in Denmark, it is illegal to tattoo someone on the head, neck, or hands.
Meanwhile, many countries, including Cuba, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, and Hungary, have no age restrictions at all.